Remembering my dearest friend

A year ago today, my beloved kittycat passed away. He was about 17 years old, and I had the privilege of taking care of him for about 9 years.

When you live alone, and you don’t have close relationships with hardly anyone, then having a cat becomes a very important and special relationship. Brian was a very important and special cat. He had to leave his home because the lady in his life had no room for him any more. It was not too different from my own circumstances.

The amazing thing about Brian is, he was so darn interested in me. Even when I was doing basically nothing with my time and my life, he watched me with intense interest and with great devotion. Many times he would go into total raptures when I simply gave him a little pat on the head.

In his final two years on this stupid earth, Brian contracted diabetes and I had to inject him with insulin twice a day. He lost a huge amount of weight in a very short time.

When he finally left, I was right by his side, here in our apartment. It was four in the morning. I petted him and looked into his beautiful amber eyes. I told him he was going to a wonderful place where he’d be strong and healthy again, and I gave him the name of my great aunt, in case he wanted to meet a friend once he got there. He stopped breathing after I said her name.

Brian Boru

5 Responses to “Remembering my dearest friend”

  1. krissi Says:

    Two cats have adopted me in my 13 years now at this address, the first, Lucy, (named after the Dead’s song ‘Loose Lucy’, she was a stray..) developed feline leukemia and i had to learn how to give her daily shots as well. i wept when she passed, but she probably had about 6 months more than she would have without my efforts. i latched onto that as a small consolation. Six years ago, on my birthday, this current cat claimed me. i refer to her as ‘Kitty’, at least until she requests something different. She was pregnant, i soon discovered, and i served as a passable midwife for the delivery of four kittens who would soon enough also claim dominion over ‘my’ home. They were eventually settled, as two pairs, into two loving homes with children who promised with big expressive eyes to do whatever was required of them to service the kittens, and Kitty was sent off for a procedure lest these shenanigans occur again.
    Kitty is currently sleeping 4 feet away on my other couch; always close enough to keep a wary eye on me lest i try anything funny.
    Or have catnip.

  2. jem Says:

    Very sweet post and so was the reply… reminded me of some kitties I’ve been fortunate enough to live with.

  3. MistressTara Says:

    Oh, my little flutterbye, I’m so sorry!! Your baby looks like my Copper, who became the darling of my whole family. A big plush kitty with a lot of love. Brian was lucky to have such a loving, special person to watch over him.

  4. little_miss_sunshine Says:

    My wife and I live with four cats, The King of Siam – a fluffy burmese – King Neptune – a gorgeous blue-eyed grey tabby, and two eight month old black kittens – Sapariwara and Richard Parker.

    My wife is crazy about cats and I love them too. We have been together for 13 years now and have lost four of our furry friends – Binky, Panther, FYS (Fine Young Son) and Ollie (who was technically a dog, but the sweetest golden retriever in the whole world).

    We lost the three cats in just a month’s time last year and it emptied our house and our lives. We were devastated. But one day, one of my wife’s co-workers told her of the litter of kittens that was tearing up her house. So, Phyllis told me that she would go and see if they were cute enough – yeah, like they wouldn’t be . . .

    Richard Parker likes to hunt flies which is like hunting flies with a sledge-hammer and Sapariwara likes jump up and ride on my shoulder. They are so friendly and gentle and cute that they make us stay in the moment with their kind adorableness.

    I am truly sorry for the loss of your noble friend Brian. I hope when the time is right, that you open your heart to finding another, besides haven’t you had those curtains long enough? A guy like Richard Parker would just love to shred them for you.

    With Love
    Little Miss Sunshine

  5. little giselle Says:

    Thank you all for your kind comments about Brian. I wish you all could have met Brian when he was still on the planet, but he was a very shy kitty, and tended to run and hide behind a bookcase on the rare occasions I had houseguests.

Leave a Reply

