Some gurls have all the luck

So Tuesday night I’m chatting online with Goddess Juliet Rose, and there’s a big storm raging outside, and my internet service is cutting on and off, and Ms. Juliet tells me to shut my computer down until the storm is over. Well, I did what she said, and went to take a nap, which turned into an all night sleep.

And when I woke up, I didn’t have phone service in the house.

I looked out the window and saw a loose cable lying in the street. Yup, that used to attach to the building I live in.

Now of course these things cannot be fixed immediately, so on Friday morning the laughing Verizon man shows up and has the problem fixed by noon or so. I go back online and catch up on email and stuff, and I’m working on this blog entry, and there’s another storm raging outside, and what do you think happens?

The electricity goes out.

Ever get the feeling that someone is trying to tell you something? Like a big booming voice in heaven is saying “I DON’T LIKE YOU”?

Well, I lucked out. There are a lot of people in Queens who have gone without electricity all week. Mine came back on in about five hours.

I’m not running the air conditioner at the moment. It’s fairly cool after the rain, and I don’t want to tempt fate. I hope a few of my neighbors are doing the same thing.

Leave a Reply

